The 1 Minute Sales Success Checkup

Hey there…

During my recent field trips with my sales super stars working with me at http://www.ourvivaha.com, I noted that very often some basics were missing from their preparations before a sales call.

And THAT set me thinking on doing this piece for my team as also for the benefit of all my brethren in sales …

So here goes….

As with any great art, success in sales is a matter of mastering the basics.  Here are four simple questions that measure your grasp of the basics:

  • QUESTION #1: Can I describe my ideal customer?
  • QUESTION #2: Do I spend time with customers matching that profile?
  • QUESTION #3: Can I articulate how I can meet that customer’s needs?
  • QUESTION #4: Can I articulate value to the customer in 25 words or less?

If the answer to all four question is an emphatic “YES!” then you’re poised for success in sales.

However, if you have the slightest bit of doubt about any one of them, you need to spend time on the basics. Here’s how:

  • If you’re unsure about QUESTION #1: Review the customers that have bought in the past, either from yourself or other reps.  Look for the characteristics that identify a likely prospect.  Write them down, so you can remember them.  Then keep your eyes and ears open for customers that match that profile.
  • If you’re unsure about QUESTION #2: Start tracking the time that you spend on various sales activities.  Look for areas where you’re spinning your wheels or doing things that aren’t really connected to serving the customer.  Then increase the amount of time you spend on really productive selling.
  • If you’re unsure about QUESTION #3: Learn more about the customer’s business model and how your offering gets used in the customer’s environment.  The best way to do this is to spend some time with a customer who is actually using your offering.  Ask plenty of questions, because you’re sure to learn a lot.
  • If you’re unsure about QUESTION #4: Write down your value proposition and then edit it down to something short and sweet.  The most important thing here is that it must describe something of value to the customer — not just a description of your products and services.

Wanna read more on sales management, then please follow my blogs on https://ashishtandon.wordpress.com

you can also connect with me on FB at https://www.facebook.com/the.ashishtandon

as also on twitter @taurus13 AND @ashishtandon

Have a great weekend and keep those comments and recommendations coming !!

Leave a Reply

